Her Canna Q&A with Sacha Cohen, Grassfed Media

 

Sacha Cohen said: “There’s room for everyone, so operating in an environment of fear, scarcity, and competition will not serve us well.”

Describe yourself and what you do.

I’m kind, loyal, and generous, but I’m also a bit of a skeptic. This has actually served me well in business and I’ve learned to trust my intuition. It’s rarely wrong.
I’m the CEO and founder of Grassfed Media, a holistic, results-focused communications un-agency. My mission has always been to work with conscious companies that are working towards the greater good. I started my company in 2013 and this was before working with cannabis clients, so the name is a happy accident.

When did you get started working with cannabis? What is your vision for your professional cannabis endeavors?

I started working with cannabis companies and writing about cannabis a few years ago. My mission is to help raise awareness about the positive mental and physical benefits of cannabis and to de-stigmatize this remarkable plant. I really enjoy working with other female entrepreneurs and helping them to tell their story using my skills as a former journalist, brand builder, and content creator. I’m also very interested in the application of CBD for pets–since I’m a huge animal lover.

What is your personal cannabis origin story?

A good friend of my family’s–someone who has known me since I was very young–had cancer and found her way into the cannabis industry about a decade ago. She’s a cultivator in California and I was blown away by how much cannabis helped her, and many of the women she met through her fight with cancer. She’s always been a mentor and an inspiration to me, so I learned about the medical side of cannabis initially from her.
Then, about three years ago, I really started struggling with issues related to perimenopause, including depression, anxiety, hot flashes, and sleeplessness, so I began to research how cannabis might be able to help with some of the problems I was having. This led me to do what I have done many times throughout my life–use that research and knowledge to share with others through my writing.

What is your Superpower?

I have a great B.S. radar. It’s both a blessing and a curse.

170A7455

What has been your greatest obstacle in this industry or with your business to date?

Being a GenX woman in a millennial world. GenX women came up in business at a very different time, when the idea of women supporting women wasn’t really a thing. We were often taught to compete with one another for limited resources. I’ve overcome this mentality by focusing on building a community of women–of all ages–that lift one another up.

“My mission is to help raise awareness about the positive mental and physical benefits of cannabis and to de-stigmatize this remarkable plant.”

What is your advice for women in the cannabis industry?

The cannabis industry, like many evolving and emerging industries, needs strong female leadership and people who lead with kindness, good judgement, and an open heart.  There’s room for everyone, so operating in an environment of fear, scarcity, and competition will not serve us well.
As for women who are interested in exploring cannabis in their personal lives, my best advice is to do your research, talk to trusted experts and doctors, and listen to your intuition. Only you know what is best for you.

Connect with Sacha Cohen:

Website: GrassfedMediaDC.com

Instagram: @SachaCohenDC and @GrassfedMedia

Attend Ellementa Cannabis Wellness Gatherings for Women in Your City

Leave a comment