Her Canna Q&A: Andrea Brooks, Sava

Andrea Brooks said:
“My mission is to help others understand the potential of the plant.”

Describe yourself and what you do.

I’m a cannabis advocate, lobbyist for social change, and entrepreneur with a passion for health and wellness. I work to make high-quality cannabis accessible, to make using it easy to understand, and to shift perceptions of this plant away from old narratives so as many people as possible understand its benefits and uses.

I’m also an animal lover who works with rescue organizations!

What is your vision for your professional cannabis endeavors?

I’ve been working with the plant in a medicinal way since a disabling injury several years ago. I’ve benefited greatly from using cannabis as a replacement for pain killer, sleep aids, etc., and my mission is to help others understand the potential of the plant.

What is your personal cannabis origin story?

My journey started with my own pain. I suffered a disabling injury that led doctors to tell me I would never work again. My frustration with the side effects of prescription pain medications led me to the cannabis world at a time when many small crafters were making high quality products, but information about and access to these products were extremely limited.

Using cannabis and a wellness regimen, I recovered and was inspired to start a marketplace that showcases these products. I created SAVA, and it quickly grew into a business that allows patients access to high-quality products from brands both big and small.

Marijuana, Medical, Cannabis Sativa, Cannabis Indica,

What is your Superpower?

My persistence. And my goofiness.

What has been your greatest obstacle in this industry or with your business to date?

We are beyond excited to be part of the industry during a shifting time when cannabis is coming out of the shadows of an ill-informed drug war and being recognized (again) as the medicinal plant that it is. Our commitment to being in compliance with new regulations reflects our desire to legitimize the industry and the plant.

That being said, dealing with all the new regulations is extremely challenging for a small business with a lean staff. The amount of time and energy, not to mention constant shifting of the inner working of our company, to comply with these continually shifting regulations is a real challenge. It’s keeping us on our toes, that’s for sure!

What is your advice for women in the cannabis industry?

I want women to succeed! The reality right now is that women-owned businesses are more heavily weighted in the category of small, artisan crafters. These businesses are the most challenged right now by all of the new regulations, and are closing their doors at a faster rate than the larger, male-run (usually more well-funded) counterparts.

My vision is for women to come together and support one another in navigating the new landscape. It was exactly this that inspired me and a few other women in the industry to start WEmpowered, a monthly gathering for female, and female-identifying, folks in the industry to meet and learn about the changing regulations together while networking with one another.

Connect with Andrea Brooks

GET SAVA Emails: www.getsava.com/email

WEBSITE: www.getsava.com

IG: www.instagram.com/getsava/

Facebook: www.facebook.com/getsava

Ellementa Gatherings for Women
Click the image to find an Ellementa Women’s Cannabis Wellness Gathering in a city near you!

Leave a comment