Her Canna Women in Cannabis Q&A: Sirita Wright, Estrohaze

Sirita Wright said: 

“What sparked for me was the innovation happening in cannabis…it intrigued me.”

Describe yourself and what you do.

This is such a hard question. I often shy away from describing myself and let other people do it so I don’t come across as too “self-serving.”

All jokes aside, I am an entrepreneur. A true creative at heart, I majored in Fashion Merchandising in college because I loved fashion and always endeavored to work in fields that I enjoyed, never stunting too much about the salary as I believe money always follows passionate and talented individuals.

To break it down further, I am an actress and a social media marketer as well as the Chief Marketing Officer and co-founder of EstroHaze; a cannabis media company and community plugging multicultural women to the business and lifestyle opportunities in the cannabis industry.

What is your professional cannabis story?

In 2013, I had the pleasure of attending a Laura Day book signing and talk in Lower Manhattan. As I was in line to purchase the book, The Circle, I saw Fortune magazine’s ‘Marijuana Inc.’ cover and snatched it from the shelf. I remember calling my mom when I got home and telling her about the related article. At the time, there were a handful of cannabis companies that were public, but what sparked for me was the innovation happening in cannabis…it intrigued me.

At that time, I was a hostess focusing on my acting career with bit parts here and there, but a girl needs stability. In 2014, I took a job as the social media manager at Black Enterprise. It was there that I was able to add to the cannabis movement.

I interviewed cannabis entrepreneurs of color and even moderated a cannabis-themed panel featuring pioneers like Wanda James and Corey Barnett, two amazing cannaprenuers of color who specifically touched the plant, an area many people wanted to get into. I was basically providing cannabis content on top of my full-time job and then some.

During this time, myself and co-founders – Safon Floyd and Kali Wilder – being cannabis enthusiast and co-workers, started hanging out after work, kicking back with a joint or two, to debrief from the day. We started a podcast talking all things cannabis called, ‘We’re Just Trying to Grow’. We truly endeavored to be in the industry, not just talk about it. We began attending local industry events like High NY where we met Patrick Rea from Canopy Boulder.

Estrohaze co-founders: Kali Wilder, Sirita Wright, Safon Floyd

A few months went by, and we were still doing our podcast, albeit a bit haphazardly because our jobs were very demanding. Then opportunity knocked by way of Twitter and a tweet from Canopy about their upcoming application deadline. We jumped.

It all happened so fast to be honest. We created a pitch deck and video, the whole 9, and the next thing you know we’re leaving our lives in Brooklyn, heading for glory in Boulder.

What is your personal cannabis origin story?

My move in the early 2000’s to NYC set me on a path to getting to know myself and being okay with me. I was having a rough few years. My car was always in and out of the shop, right after I paid it off, I swear. The recession had tripped me up financially, and I was just getting out of a rocky relationship.

During this time, I began extensively working on myself. I had lost faith in everything and very reluctantly “let go and let God” as the saying goes. I really wanted to BE a better me.

I began interning at a yoga studio and doing hot yoga two to three times per week. I was reading books like The Seat of The Soul, Purpose Driven Life, Love Poems from God and the Bible, all with a joint in hand, everyday.

I was acting in local plays and working odd jobs, but I was at peace. Between the books, yoga and pastors like TD Jakes, Joyce Meyer and the Cannabis, I was on an eye-opening spiritual journey.

Cannabis opened my spirit to another world. It enhanced my thinking, and I was getting the wisdom I needed to make my next moves.

There is something to pot and prayer – this might be a series on EstroHaze.com one day.

What is your Superpower?

Doin’ me and being OK with it!

Being myself has opened up doors that were otherwise shut to me. These doors would have remained shut if I hadn’t got to know myself. It took years for me to get to that place, and I just take it day by day. Because we all have insecurities. but I know I am stronger than them.

Before I was born, I was powerful, and sometimes you need to remind yourself of that. There is a bigger reason I am here and building EstroHaze with women who are my friends and business partners. We have spent over four months living together, building the foundation for our business, the first part of our legacies – collectively and individually.

When our powers combined, it set off a new chain of cosmic events that have yet to truly shift the cannabis ecosystem. When I think about the fact that we all worked together at another company – just baking for this shared experience – it blows my mind.

What has been your greatest obstacle in this industry or with your business to date?

My greatest challenge is not trying to change people. I think because I am a Virgo and want the very best for everyone, sometimes my best for them is not the best they intended for themselves. I am working everyday to respect other peoples journey.

I do what I do, know what I know, and I stay open to learning more. I imagine I’ll be working on evolving the many levels of my own self – mastery until the end of my days.

Safon Floyd, Kali Wilder and Sirita Wright

What is your vision for women in this industry?

Women should be prepared to go hard, but be yourself. Use your intuition, be receptive to the feelings you feel – especially if you plan on entertaining investors and working with advisers, lawyers and other professionals. Not everyone will have your best interest at heart, and there is no need to be desperate.

Everything happens for a reason. Which leads me to: have YOUR best interest as heart. You may have to hustle and work a 9-to-5 while you build your cannabis business. I was never one for a 9-to-5, and if you’re not either, learn a skill and learn the business of freelancing.

I believe everything comes to you when you’re ready – even clients. So do what you can and let the universe handle the rest. Take time to reflect – meditate, journal, whatever but reflect and refocus. Never quit!

Connect with Sirita

Website: 
Estrohaze.com

Instagram: 
@estrohaze

Facebook: 
facebook.com/estrohaze

Twitter: 
@estrohaze

PHOTO CREDITS: 

1. Headshot: Patrick Austin https://www.patbits.com/  
Photos 2 & 3: Rich February https://www.instagram.com/leadersofstyle/

Want to be featured on Her Canna Life? Get in touch!

Leave a comment