Her Canna Q&A with Lalita Khosla, Bad Mommy Edibles

 

Lalita Khosla said: “Like any industry, it’s dominated by men. So, put your cape on and stick with it!”

Describe yourself and what you do.

I’m an innovator in the cannabis space, promoting the magical combination of infusing excellent dark chocolate with excellent microdosed cannabis extract to hyperextended, stressed out moms. Is there any other kind? Lol.

When did you get started working with cannabis? What is your vision for your professional cannabis endeavors?

I enjoyed cannabis here and there, wherever it came my way as a college student and adult. My appreciation for this beautiful plant really took off when a friend introduced me to delectable, savory infused caramels that she made herself in Martha’s Vineyard. I enjoyed the light, edible high and wanted to improve both its consistency of potency and the ways in which it could be delivered. My first products were savory dark chocolate dipped nut bites because I thought the edible world had plenty of sweet and needed some spicy, salty, and herbal goodness. A few iterations later, I decided to simplify and stick with a high content dark chocolate, because when you find the right one, it has its own flavor which combines nicely with herbaceous terpenes and tends to be savory in its own right.

BM_FPO_Ganache_500x500

What is your personal cannabis origin story?

I wanted better coping mechanisms for the stressed out mom I was and for the stressed out moms I was surrounded by. It’s too difficult raising children, house holding, and working – what made us women think we could take it all on? I found the edible high light and easy and relaxing in an uplifting way, compared to the numbing effect of alcohol or Rx pills. I noticed it made my mom friends and me funny and able to be silly in a completely playful way. One evening we all took some of my friend’s caramels and went walking by the Hudson river in NYC with our kids and dogs. We ended up in the dog park running around the sprinklers. I texted my friends pictures later with the caption “we are such bad mommys.” The brand was born. I still have those pictures somewhere.

What is your Superpower?

I love talking to people. Truly listening and connecting and helping them out.

BM_hand_cameo_grey

What has been your greatest obstacle in this industry or with your business to date?

Compliance is really, really expensive. I’m fundraising so I can launch in the adult use market here in California. If you’re reading this and interested in bringing premium cannabis edibles to a female audience, contact me.

“I wanted better coping mechanisms for the stressed out mom I was and for the stressed out moms I was surrounded by.”

What is your advice for women in the cannabis industry?

Like any industry, it’s dominated by men. So, put your cape on and stick with it!

Connect with Lalita Khosla:

Website: badmommyedibles.com

Instagram: @badmommyedibles

Attend Ellementa Cannabis Wellness Gatherings for Women in Your City

Leave a comment