Her Canna Q&A: Jennessa Lea, Break the Stigma Fitness

Jennessa said:
“My mission is to educate and inspire individuals to take control over their own health and wellness with a combination therapy of cannabis, fitness, and clean eating.”

Describe yourself and what you do.

I would say I am a very determined woman with a mission to inspire and de-stigmatize cannabis through fitness and education. My fitness facility, Break the Stigma Fitness, is the first cannabis-friendly fitness facility in the world.

At Break the Stigma Fitness, we combine wholesome, cannabis-friendly workouts, nutritional advice, and workshops detailing nutrition and cannabis therapy exercise. I also just released a clothing line, Fit Cannabis Girl, which is a cannabis-inspired activewear clothing line to help promote a healthy lifestyle with cannabis and fitness. Some of the designs include sayings like “Chronically Fit” and “Dank Strength.”

In addition, I spend time as a cannabis advocate, speaking to politicians to help influence positive reform for cannabis. I’ve also become an MJFitNut-sponsored athlete. Most recently, I’ve started doing cannabis inspired modeling. Through these avenues, I hope to be a strong force in the cannabis community living life and truly breaking the stigma.

What is your professional cannabis story?

I started working with cannabis as an advocate in my home state of Minnesota in May of 2014 after cannabis saved my life. At that time, I had a very poor quality of life due to the serious chronic pain I was experiencing associated to Ehlers Danlos Syndrome (EDS).

EDS is a connective tissue disease that greatly effects the elasticity in your collagen. Collagen is literally the glue that holds your body together, and mine is defective and weak. This causes instability, dislocations, arthritis, etc. throughout my body resulting in significant chronic pain.

In the beginning stages of my illness, I was prescribed copious amounts of narcotics and other pharmaceuticals.

I lived in a doped-up haze, was obese, and still in so much pain from the disease, as my tolerance to the narcotics was so high.

That all changed once I incorporated cannabis into my daily wellness routine.

Finally, my pain was manageable. Because of this, I could consistently do physical therapy to build muscle around my weak joints. This was imperative to my success and why I have become such an advocate for cannabis fitness. This is what lead me to open Break the Stigma Fitness and start my clothing line, Fit Cannabis Girl .

My mission is to educate and inspire individuals to take control over their own health and wellness with a combination therapy of cannabis, fitness, and clean eating. I want to encourage and remind everyone YOU have the power. If you want it, you can achieve it!

What is your personal cannabis origin story?

I grew up in a harsh environment with little nurture or care from my parents as they were, and are, drug addicts and have mental health illnesses. This meant that I had to take care of myself from a very young age, learn life lessons on my own, and be my own advocate.

Until recently, my past was something I carried with a lot of resentment inside of me. However, now I am forever grateful. I am positive this lack of family guidance growing up is what gave me the knowledge, resilience, and creativity I needed to succeed today in my career in the cannabis industry and to never give up in life no matter what.

What is your Superpower?

I would say my superpower is my ability to be resilient when life gets tough.

I take everything thrown my way as a challenge and always try to learn from my experiences, good or bad.

What has been your greatest obstacle in this industry or with your business to date?

Honestly, learning the ins and outs of running a small start up has been challenging in itself. I have a few great friends who have helped. I ask Google often and have been able to be a part of some great Women’s Entrepreneur Support Groups on Facebook. Because business is ever evolving, I am sure this is something I will forever be learning.

What is your vision for women in this industry?

I would like women who are thinking about entering the Cannabis industry to know that, with hard work, anything is possible! We have so much opportunity because we are on the forefront of this industry which means we set the standards.

If you want it, you can achieve it!

Connect with Jennessa

Website: www.breakthestigmafitness.com

Instagram: @fitcannabisgirl and @breakthestigmafitness

Twitter: @fitcannabisgirl

Facebook: http://facebook.com/fitcannagirl
http://facebook.com/breakthestigmafitness

Leave a Reply

