Her Canna Q&A with Dee Dussault, Ganja Yoga

Dee Dussault, Ganja Yoga

“I want to help people connect with the plant and avail themselves to its healing potential…”

Describe yourself and what you do.

I’m a relaxation activist, first and foremost. And I teach people about using cannabis and sexuality along with relaxation.

My book, Ganja Yoga, is coming out the week of 4/20 with Harper Collins. I’ll be doing a booktour to LA, San Diego, NYC, Denver, and Portland, spreading the enhanced relaxation gospel. Along the way, I’ll be working with women who offer their own form of cannabis enhanced yoga, building a sisterhood of enhanced practitioners

I’ve been teaching Ganja Yoga in San Francisco for two years, though I started it in 2009, in Toronto. I offer two sold-out weekly Ganja Yoga classes: Wednesdays ‘Smoke and Stretch’ class has complimentary sun-grown, organic joints, and Thursday’s ‘Vape Restorative’ class has delicious, health-conscious, lower-dose edibles. Both weekly classes also include use of vape pens. I am just about to add a third Ganja Yoga class to the roster, fourth Saturdays, with dabs.

I also do consulting for yoga teachers who want to get their own version going and have specific questions for me, and I am launching a Ganja Yoga teacher training next year. My spring Ganja Yoga retreat in April 2017, just before my book tour, still has spaces left, so that’s my next big project.

[Also see Ganja Yoga Comes to Venice!]

When not offering some form of Ganja Yoga, I am a sexuality coach and work with singles and couples in private sessions that focus on mindful loving, open communication, yogic practices to enhance intimacy, and sensual, non-genital massage.

I just finished running a love-themed double-weekend full of sensuality-themed yoga classes for women and for couples. Needless to say, I’m a busy bee, so it’s important that I practice the relaxation and self-care techniques I preach!

What is your cannabis origin story?

I am a late bloomer to cannabis, only developing a relationship to it in my late-twenties. When I tried in high school, I suffered extreme anxiety so had to give up on it for about a decade. Now we know so much more about dose, CBD, and set and setting, so I want to help people connect with the plant and avail themselves to its healing potential even if they too had negative experiences early on.

When mixed with yoga, sensuality, sexuality, and other embodied, mindful, awesome parts of life, the effect is so much more pronounced. It’s a deeply healing, deeply spiritual plant.

After overcoming anxiety, I started to see how cannabis could help me tap into feelings I wasn’t allowing myself to feel, while at the same time helping me to let go of obsessive thoughts and habits of mind. It magnetized and dulled, it brought energy and relaxation, serenity and insight, all depending on what I needed from it and the intention I brought to the consumption experience.

Whether it’s being used medicinally, spiritually, or “recreationally,” cannabis’ adaptogenic properties means it can morph and help each individual in the unique way she needs at that time. It’s like learning to ride a wave….


What is your Superpower?

Helping newbies to feel relaxed without over-coddling them. Weed users have always been an open, accepting group, so we want to keep that going as the plant goes mainstream.

What has been your greatest obstacle in this industry or with your business to date – and how have you overcome it?

No main issues for me, since I’m sort of on the periphery of the cannabis industry. Prop 64 meant people from other states or countries could come to class, so that was helpful, even if it carried with it some major disadvantages.

What is your vision for women in this industry?


I always offer a first class free to women in the industry. It’s my way of supporting, and making clear that there is, a sisterhood. This is the one major industry where many women are able to take executive positions. We can maintain healthy quality of life and balance if we keep the industry women-centric. I’m so excited to be a part of it and to know so many successful, powerful, inspiring sisters.

Connect with Dee

Retreat Apr 13-16:  Eventbrite

Book:  www.ganjayogabook.com

Website: www.deedussault.com ~ www.ganjayogabook.com

Instagram: @ganjayoga
Facebook: Dee Dussault: Ganja Yoga, Partner Yoga, & Sex Coaching

Want to be featured on Her Canna Life? Get in touch!

Leave a Reply

