Her Canna Q&A with Sara aka the Chronic Crafter

on

Sara aka The Chronic Crafter

Chronic Crafter is my way of bringing all my favourite things together: being an entrepreneur, crafting, and weed.

Describe yourself and what you do.
I would describe myself as the down to earth, creative type. As for what I do, I’m just trying to live life by my owns terms and spread my cannabis inspired creativity through Chronic Crafter.

I was inspired to start Chronic Crafting when I was at a low point, I turned to cannabis and art to help me handle a very difficult situation. I had always wanted to learn Adobe Illustrator so I taught myself and this coloring book was my first project.

I create a little bit of everything, I have crafting ADD. I create art on paper and digitally, needle felt, use polymer clay, make jewelry, create stoner accessories, and random stuff I find on Pinterest and like. When it comes to crafting, I’m a jack of all trades and master of none.

img_0147-1

What is the origin story for your cannabis journey?
I started using cannabis medically when I was 19 and fell in love with this miracle plant! A few years later, I opened my first business (hemp/eco friendly clothing store) so I could help promote/ educate consumers on industrial hemp. Then I sold the business but remained employed there to help manage it and expand it into a head shop.

In early 2015, I was laid off from the business I started/sold, and I was like, okay, now what? I knew I didn’t want to give up my entrepreneurial dreams or turn my back on the cannabis industry and the culture. Also, I have always been a “creative type.” So Chronic Crafter is my way of bringing all my favourite things together: being an entrepreneur, crafting, and weed.

I felt that there isn’t anyone out there promoting cannabis and creativity. I wanted to fill that roll.

So the last eight years of my life have been tied to the cannabis plant.

What is your Superpower?
Totally has to be Creativity! To see something in my mind and bring it out into the physical world – it’s totally a Superpower. Not a Superpower that I was born with though. I’ve been working on it for years.

img_6550-1

What has been your greatest obstacle in this industry or with your business to date – and how have you overcome it?
I’m pretty introverted so the greatest obstacle has defiantly been putting myself out there and sharing what I do, it’s something I’m working on everyday. I overcome that by reminding myself that there’s billions of other people on this planet who feel that same way too and I can’t shine if I’m hiding in the dark.

What is your vision for women in this industry?
I love that women are stepping up to fill entrepreneurial rolls in the budding marijuana industry. It’s so exciting to see women in the business not just as eye candy to try and sell products. I hope more women are inspired to join the cannabis industry and if they are entering it I’d like to tell them to leave their ego at the door. We will accomplish so much more if we work together.

Check out Sara’s free page from her book Color Me Cannabis on her website or buy a copy on Amazon.

color-me-cannabis

Connect with Sara

WEBSITE: www.thechroniccrafter.com

Facebook: facebook.com/chroniccrafter/

Twitter: twitter.com/chronic_crafter

Instagram: instagram.com/chroniccrafter/

Leave a Reply

