Her Canna Life Q&A with Kim Geraghty

Kim Geraghty, aka Madame Munchie

“For anyone looking to enter the cannabis industry, I would say it doesn’t matter if you’re a man or a women, as long as you show integrity and respect.”

Describe yourself and what you do.
A passionate cannabis entrepreneur who is trying to help make the world a better place. 

What inspired you to start your company?
Having grown up in France, I visited Amsterdam and saw a coffee shop for the first time when I was thirteen. Although I was not allowed in, my dad explained to me what this place was. So my very first experience with cannabis was in a setting where it was legal.

Then later when I tried it in high school, I found such a relief from my stress and anxiety that I could not understand how on earth this plant had been made illegal. I used it to replace the prescription drugs I had been taking for ADHD and depression. It also helped stimulate my appetite and get a good night of sleep.

By the time I had started working in finance I had realized that most people I knew had tried cannabis at least once, but were too afraid to say it.

However if I would mention it in the right tone and setting, they would immediately light up about it and about how enjoyable they found it.

That’s when I decided to switch career paths and go from a passive consumer to an activist and ambassador for cannabis.Madame Munchie personal photo.jpg

What is your origin story for your canna business?
There are so many small steps along the way that I realize now were secretly creating the foundations of the Madame Munchie story. I think the biggest catalyst was in February 2013, when I met my co-founder Ashley. I had recently moved to San Francisco with the hopes of finding a way to contribute to the fight for legalization.

My French heritage taught me that nothing could defeat the power of French pastries. I knew they could be a great ally for the cannabis cause and I decided I wanted to start a French edibles business. I met Ashley online, on a dating site. Her profile mentioned that she worked in the cannabis industry. Intrigued by this beautiful and mysterious person, I reached out, inquiring about what exactly she did in the industry.

She messaged back right away, saying that it would be best to meet up in person and we could discuss it more then. We met up the next day, and I was completely taken away by everything about her. Her genuineness, her integrity, her creativity. She was the nicest person I had ever met. I asked her to be my business partner, and to my surprise she accepted right away.

Two weeks later we had our first business meeting at my apartment, with my brother who was Skyping in from Paris. The meeting was at 11 AM on a Saturday morning and Ashley showed up right on time. She is the real heroine of this story who later inspired me to quit my job and take a leap into the unknown, and her unwavering commitment to the cause continue to fuel much of this journey.

What is your Superpower?
Believing that anything is possible.

Madame Munchie five pack.jpg

What has been your greatest obstacle in this industry or with your business to date – and how have you overcome it?
Living in France and then later New York, sources for affordable quality cannabis were few and far between. This was an obstacle for me, since I used cannabis to replace prescription drugs. The prescription drugs had been available for me and paid for by my family’s healthcare insurance. The same was not true for cannabis.

Despite having met some very kind people in the black market, I did not want to contribute to an underground economic system that bypasses taxes.

I overcame this obstacle by moving to California. I have certainly found the cannabis El Dorado here. I do wish I could bring this back to France and help patients there access quality cannabis as well. But until that is possible, I will remain a medical cannabis refugee in California.

Tropical Jungle.jpg

What is your vision for women in this industry?
I don’t think this industry is fundamentally that different from other industries when it comes to women. There are certainly many amazing women powering this industry, but I do notice that most of the CEOs and investors are men.

For anyone looking to enter the cannabis industry, I would say it doesn’t matter if you’re a man or a women, as long as you show integrity and respect.

This is not just about making money, this is about healing and changing people’s lives.

I feel honored and blessed every day that I get to contribute to this cause. For women who are mothers, there is an opportunity to be a voice of reason. I would encourage all parents to realize that their child would be better off hearing about cannabis from them than from someone else.

Logo.jpg

Connect with Kim

Website: madamemunchie.com – Medicated award winning French macarons, available in five flavors and with 20 mg of THC each.
Instagram: @madamemunchie
Twitter: @madamemunchie

Leave a Reply

