Her Canna Life Q&A with Jessie Gill

Jessie Gill, Blogger/Mother/Nurse

I suffered for years, enduring major surgery and countless treatments – medical marijuana was a God send.

Describe yourself and what you do.

I am a marijuana mommy blogger and a registered nurse. I’m passionate about holistic health and family wellness. I’m an avid writer – my work has appeared on Cosmopolitan, Good Housekeeping, and more.

header-with-trust-strip-2

What inspired you to start your company? 

I was a hospice nurse when a freak work injury resulted in a tragic spinal injury. Everything about my life changed instantly. I suffered for years, enduring major surgery and countless treatments – medical marijuana was a God send. I was able to eliminate around the clock opiate and valium use immediately. I am not healed, but my quality of life has improved immensely.

What is your vision and mission for your Canna business?

Medical marijuana was a last resort for me because I was afraid of the stigma. I didn’t want to be a labeled as a “pothead”. My mother convinced me to try it and the medical results blew me away. Now, I’m committed to helping to fight the stigma against marijuana users. My vision is for parents to feel comfortable openly using marijuana without fearing the negative stigma and repercussions.

My vision is for parents to feel comfortable openly using marijuana without fearing the negative stigma and repercussions.

What is your Superpower? 

Compassion and story-telling. Those are my gifts.

What has been your greatest obstacle in this industry or with your business to date – and how have you overcome it? 

My biggest challenge to date is my injury. When I was injured, I was training for a marathon, had a great career, and was extremely active. Now, I can’t run, I can’t drive, and my bedside nursing career ended. I endure constant pain – it’s made every moment of life more challenging.

What is your vision for women in this industry? 

Prohibition kept this industry from being overly male dominated. Women are on more equal footing here than most industries.

iphone-1357

Connect with Jessie

Twitter: @flustered_mom

Leave a Reply

