Her Canna Q & A with Adele Tara

Adele Tara, founder of Alaska Green Cross

As a female African American, when others underestimate me, it is a tool they add to my toolbox.

Describe yourself and what you do.

A graceful survivor that enjoys committing random acts of kindness.

What inspired you to start your company and when and how did you get started? 

The death of my eighteen-year-old son over a gram of cannabis caused me to look inside the cannabis industry more.  I started working behind the scenes to support and educate others on cannabis legalization. Then my friends and I started giving cannabis to the elderly and severely ill free of charge.

This network does have a beginning though through me and my personal experiences and trials. When my second son was killed over what was described as a “pocket lint amount” of cannabis, that was when I knew I needed to dedicate myself to working towards the legalization of cannabis.

I began working behind the scenes with local businesses, as well as local Democratic and Liberal activists, that were fighting for the legalization of recreational cannabis. Being a medical cannabis patient myself, I began providing myself, as well as others, with superior quality cannabis. This is when I began reaching out to others and working with other people to try and make a difference.

I began reaching out to others and working with other people to try and make a difference.

Adele Tara Her Canna 800What is your vision and mission for your Canna business?

We, at AK Green Cross, are committed to being a group that seeks to empower local Alaskan residents to build new auxiliary businesses within the cannabis industry, while operating a dispensary that sets the bar for others.

We also seek to assist Alaskan MMJ (Medical Marijuana) patients with avenues through which they can safely acquire and consume their medicine.

What is your Superpower? 

Empathy / Survival

What has been your greatest obstacle in this industry and how have you overcome it? 

As a female African American, when others underestimate me, it is a tool they add to my toolbox.

What is your vision for women in this industry?

It is just like any other industry, we must stand together as women or be automatically marginalized by the men in the industry.

Connect with Adele

Instagram: @alaska.green

Leave a Reply

