Her Canna Q&A With Angel Burnett

Angel Burnett, Mary Jane Gift Boxes

I see women continuing to step out and make their mark in every facet of the industry. I see us being fearless!!

Describe yourself and what you do.
I am a free spirit and a giving person. I’ve always been creative and never afraid to try something new.
And Mary Jane Gift Boxes reflects that. It gives me the opportunity to create something new and exciting for others to give and enjoy.

When did you start your cannabiz, and what is your vision and mission for it?
February 2015. I see MJGB growing in the gift market within the Cannabis industry. I want MJBG to be the company you think of when you want to give a unique gift for all of life’s occasions and milestones (birthdays, weddings, anniversaries, congratulations and everything in between).

Our mission is to provide luxury canna friendly gift boxes that make make people smile.

What is the Origin Story for your Cannabis journey?
I’ve always been an entrepreneur at heart creating and trying different businesses to see how far I can take them. I’ve learned a lot of lessons and met a lot of great people along the way. I had a retail store for several years for exotic dancers. That gave me the opportunity to create an fun and vibrant atmosphere with cool products and accessories.

We held fashion shows and would create patterns to make a lot of cool dresses. It was so much fun.

I created a line of greeting cards focusing on the realities of every day love. That was a great form of expression for me. I opened an empowerment studio for young girls where I created a program that focused on self worth. That was one of the most rewarding ventures I’ve done.

Living in Colorado you can’t help but to notice the industry’s large presence. I started to ask myself what I could give.

When I was researching what I could possibly do, I came across some really cool companies and products. I thought about opening up another retail store but working full-time and being a mom, I knew that was out of the question. I needed something I could do and hopefully grow on my own schedule. I think all of my experiences led me to create MARY JANE GIFT BOXES and I’m excited to see where it goes.

What is your Superpower?
X-ray vision. That gives me the power to see the big picture.

"Rocky Mountain Rasta," Mary Jane Gift Boxes, 2016©Barry Staver, barrystaver.com
“Rocky Mountain Rasta,” Mary Jane Gift Boxes, 2016©Barry Staver, barrystaver.com
"Mile High Lovers," Mary Jane Gift Boxes, 2016©Barry Staver, barrystaver.com
“Mile High Lovers,” Mary Jane Gift Boxes, 2016©Barry Staver, barrystaver.com

What has been your greatest obstacle to date – and how have you overcome it – or are you still working on tackling it?
Getting the word out and finding my space in the industry. Showing people you can blend canna friendly gifts with class. Helping people see that there are quality canna friendly novelties and products out there that are great gifts.(from bath and beauty products, candles, various hemp products, wine glasses, home and office products, accessories and so much more).

I’m still working on tackling it, and that is something I’ll continue to do everyday. I just take it one day at a time and continue to look for opportunities to introduce Mary Jane Gift Boxes and I appreciate this opportunity very much.

What is your vision for women in this industry?
I see women continuing to step out and make their mark in every facet of the industry. From being advocates, dispensary owners and growers, to accessories, fashion, marketing and more there are so many opportunities. I see us being fearless!!

What would you like women to know about entering the Cannabis industry?
Opportunities exist and there is no better time than the present to ask themselves what they can give in order to prosper. The possibilities are endless. You just have to put yourself out there, believe in your product, get your hustle on and never give up!

Connect with Angel:

Website: www.maryjanegiftboxes.com
Twitter: @maryjanegiftbox
Instagram@maryjanegiftboxes

 

Want to be featured on Her Canna Life? Get in touch!

Leave a Reply

