Her Canna Q&A with Jessica Catalano

Jessica Catalano, The Ganja Kitchen Revolution

My goal is to help as many Medical Cannabis patients as I possibly can creating a better quality of life for them through recipes and cannabis education

Describe yourself and what you do.

I’m a professional Cannabis Chef, food writer, cannabis edibles expert, pioneer of strain specific cannabis cuisine, founder of TGKR, and author of The Ganja Kitchen Revolution: The Bible of Cannabis Cuisine published by Green Candy Press.

I am a Medical Cannabis and Cannabis Lifestyle advocate who has combined her two loves of food and cannabis into stylish medicated dishes for Medical Cannabis patients.

Ganja Kitchen Get the Book Ganja Kitchen Revolution!

What is your vision and mission for your Canna business and pursuits?

To help patients and cannabis culinary enthusiasts understand the importance of flavor profiles of cannabis strains in recipes for a more enjoyable experience and how each strain will not only effect their bodies but how the strains can impart complementary or analogous flavors.

My goal is to help as many Medical Cannabis patients as I possibly can creating a better quality of life for them through recipes and cannabis education. My recipes explore the health benefits of cooking with cannabis which when balanced with good nutrition and a healthy lifestyle can help promote a longer and more fulfilling life.

Check out Jessica’s recipe for Central Italian
Super Lemon Haze Bruschetta.

TGKR_FINAL

What is the Origin Story for your Cannabis journey?

It was the summer of 7th grade in Upstate NY, getting ready to go into 8th and I was hanging out with one of my close girlfriends. We were listening to Tool and had the windows open in her room enjoying the summer air while getting ready to go meet our friends.

She asked if I wanted to smoke some weed and I said sure as I was intrigued. Unfortunately, she could not find her pipe so she made a makeshift pipe out of an empty pop can. I inhaled the smoke and immediately realized it relived a current migraine that I was having. This moment in life officially set my foot onto the path of cannabis.

What is your Superpower?

Empathy.

What has been your greatest obstacle in this industry and how have you overcome it – or are you still working on tackling it?

When I first entered work at a dispensary in Frisco, Colorado, I really had to prove myself to the male patients as far as my cannabis knowledge and cannabis growing knowledge was concerned. A lot of times they would try to dismiss me as a cute girl, but once I dropped knowledge bombs on them they quickly changed their tune.

We are in a male dominated industry and often pretty females are looked at as eye candy instead of being taken seriously.

I have had to prove myself a lot in the past to gain respect and I am still doing that today. Not being shy about things and really speaking my mind has helped me break this barrier.

What is your vision for women in this industry? 

I want all women in this industry to be respected not only for their beauty but also their brains and what they can bring to the table. This industry is like any popular industry can be; therefore you need to exhibit grace, confidence, persistence, passion, and a hard work ethic.

Connect with Jessica:

WEBSITE: www.tgkr.co

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Twitter: @JessicaCatalano

Instagram: @chefjessicacatalano

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheGanjaKitchenRevolution

https://www.facebook.com/TheCannaMomDiet/

Buy Jessica’s Book Ganja Kitchen Revolution

Check out Jessica’s recipe for Central Italian
Super Lemon Haze Bruschetta.

 

Leave a Reply

